Established in 1995, the mission of Big Bend Hospice Foundation is to support the unfunded and underfunded programs of Big Bend Hospice.

The Foundation solicits and manages donations and other charitable gifts by raising awareness of current needs, hosting fundraisers, seeking grants, obtaining memorial gifts, establishing endowments, and more.

Thanks to the generosity of thousands in our eight-county service area, no one is refused hospice services due to their ability to pay.

Big Bend Hospice Foundation, Inc. Board of Trustees

The Big Bend Hospice Foundation Board of Trustees provides leadership and governance over the operation of the Foundation and supports the programs, services, activities and interests of Big Bend Hospice. Take a moment to meet the community leaders that give of their personal time to serve the mission of Big Bend Hospice Foundation.


Dena Strickland

Board of Trustees

Stan Barnes, Chairman
Marty Sipple, Vice Chairman
Patti Graganella, Secretary
Michael Kalifeh, CPA, CFST, Treasurer
Gwynn Virostek, Past Chairman
Scott Harrell, BBH Chairman

Greg Adams
Les Akers
Ken Boutwell
Beth Desloge
Mark Hillis
Jane Marks, M.A., LMFT, LMHC
Martha Olive-Hall
Kenneth Pratt
Paul Sullivan
Marjorie Turnbull
Sharon Weeden

Dena Strickland
Foundation President

Bill Wertman, MSW
BBH CEO & Administrator


Blucher B. Lines
Eleanor Smith
Ronald Tate
Ben H. Wilkinson, Sr.
Roy Young

Foundation Staff

Dena Strickland

Catherine Leonard
Executive Assistant/ Board Liaison

Connie Palmer
Director of Special Events/Foundation Manager

Leila McClure
Events Coordinator Assistant

Michele Hood
Donor Services Coordinator

Samantha Carpenter
Administrative Assistant

Emeritus Members

John Aurell
Valerie Cattau
Gail Croy
Walter Culley
David Harvey
Judy Pate
Palmer Proctor